Our website is set to allow the use of cookies. For more information please visit our Privacy and Cookies Policy. By continuing to use this website or clicking “CLOSE” you are indicating you are happy with the use of cookies as set out in our Privacy and Cookie Policy.


Find people in Newcastle upon Tyne

Are you looking for a telephone number in Newcastle? Use the search box above to get started.

The 'capital' of the North, Newcastle had a population 292,200 in 2010. So, if you're trying to find someone in the city, you're going to struggle if you simply rely on the phone book. White Pages, UK's online tools can help you find the person you're looking for at the click of the button.

The rest of this guide will provide you with more information about Newcastle's archives and census records to further assist you with your search.

Newcastle Electoral Register Archives

White Pages gives you access to over a decade's worth of information from the edited version of the electoral register. However, you can view the full electoral register at certain official venues or at the British library.

You can view current and historical copies of Newcastle's full electoral register at:

City Library
Charles Avison Building
33 New Bridge Street West
Newcastle upon Tyne

The library is open Monday to Thursday 8.30am - 8pm, Friday 8:30am - 5:30pm, Saturday 9.30am - 5.30pm, Sunday 11am - 5pm.

Changes in City and County Boundaries

Newcastle was one of the boroughs reformed by the Municipal Corporations Act, 1835, and subsequently included the parishes of Byker, Elswick, Heaton, Jesmond, Newcastle All Saints, Newcastle St Andew, Newcastle St John, Newcastle St Nicholas, and Westgate.

In 1904, the urban districts of Benwell, Fenham and Walker were added, and in 1935, Newcastle gained Kenton and parts of the parishes of West Brunton, East Denton, Fawdon and Longbenton.

Newcastle also expanded its boundaries under the Local Government Act, 1972, when the city became a metropolitan borough, and included the urban districts of Gosforth and Newburn, and the parishes of Brunswick, Dinnington, Hazlerigg, North Gosforth and Woolsington from the Castle Ward Rural District, and the village of Westerhope.

Therefore, if you are looking for records of someone from an area that has not always been a part of Newcastle, they may not be held at City Library.


Newcastle has 26 electoral wards. They are as follows:

  • Benwell and Scotswood
  • Blakelaw
  • Byker
  • Castle
  • Dene
  • Denton
  • Gosforth (East and West)
  • Elswick
  • Fawdon
  • Fenham
  • Heaton (North and South)
  • Jesmond (North and South)
  • Kenton
  • Lemington
  • Newburn
  • Ouseburn
  • Parklands
  • Walker
  • Walkergate
  • Westerhope
  • Westgate
  • Wingrove
  • Woolsington

Image by 96tommy

If you'd like more information about Newcastle's history, City Library has a Local Studies and Family History department.